“Please may I have this dance?”

“Please may I have this dance?” is actually a very common phrase in our home. I think from an earlier slice I have shared about my Disney princess loving, ballerina of a toddler.

A few nights ago, I was finishing some things upstairs while my husband and daughter were playing downstairs. She is going through a real mommy do it phase, so I was happy for her to get some quality playtime with my husband.

I walked downstairs to the sweetest sight. My husband had taught Madelyn how to curtsy, just like Belle does with the Beast and Matt was taking a bow. He politely asked her for the dance as she placed her hand in his. They danced around our kitchen island pretending to be Beauty and The Beast while listening to the soundtrack.

Now when Madelyn is playing alone using her imagination, I often hear her say, “Look at my pretty dress” as she spins in a circle. Then when she catches me watching her, she reaches out her hand and says, “Please may I have this dance?”

Oh how I love my little princess.

3 thoughts on ““Please may I have this dance?””

  1. This is so sweet. I wish that we would have had this blogging thing when my kids were little. Wha ta great way to precerve these memories!

    Like

  2. That is awesome! Matt is a good dude and I love that he puts himself out there for your sweet girl. That is a cool moment to witness!! I look forward to being the beast myself!!

    Like

Leave a comment