Got a piece of myself back

This morning I got back on our treadmill and I ran two miles. Two miles may not seem like a lot, but to me it’s a huge accomplishment.

I started running years ago due to my wonderful teaching partner who introduced me to 5k’s. After that first 5k, I was totally hooked. From there I ran 10k, half marathons and even the 2010 Chicago marathon. I didn’t consider it exercise, running to me had healing powers.

Life these past few months has really thrown some curves my way and I just didn’t feel like myself. I had no motivation to run. I was signed up to do a half marathon in April, but due to not running these past few months, I won’t be doing it because my stamina is no where near ready. I’ve never ever given up on a race because I didn’t prepare for it. I was so disappointed in myself.

I woke up this morning feeling great and decided to get back on that treadmill. It felt wonderful. So to most two miles doesn’t seem like a lot, but that’s where my body told me I was done today and it feels like a great accomplishment to me.

4 thoughts on “Got a piece of myself back”

Leave a Reply

