Leprechaun Traps

My students created leprechaun traps with a partner yesterday as a STEM activity. They asked questions, they sketched their ideas, then they came together with a partner to bring their ideas to life. They tweaked as they created and collaborated well.

Tonight is the night that I set them out in our classroom to continue the magic. Some kids are truly hoping to catch a leprechaun. I hope I don’t disappoint them by simply leaving a gold coin behind as a sign that a leprechaun has visited…

5 thoughts on “Leprechaun Traps”

  1. I wondered what people do with leprechaun traps! It’s been so long since my own kindergarten class had leprechauns visit (truly the only time I’ve cared about St. Patrick’s day). Glad you are able to connect such magical moments to STEM!

    Like

  2. This is such a fun activity, Kelly. I can tell you my daughter absolutely couldn’t wait to get to school today to check on her trap! I don’t think she would be disappointed at all by a gold coin left behind.

    This post is such a reminder to me of how much you care about your students, wondering if they’ll be disappointed. You’re such a compassionate teacher (and person).

    Like

Leave a Reply

