Mom Guilt

Mom guilt is the absolute worst…

My peanut seems to have a virus. Runny nose, cough, low fever. She also just finished antibiotics for her 4th double ear infection since she was 6 months old. She has proven to us that she is just prone to lots of sicknesses. The second she gets over one, something else comes up.

My hubs and I are both teachers. So the guilt about not being in our classrooms is there too. Double the guilt.

We are constantly going back and forth about sending her to the sitter or not. We always take turns on who stays home with her and we like to have that planned the night before so we can have sub plans in place. It’s also such a hard decision to make the night before because what if she feels better in the morning? So.Much.Guilt

Some days I wish I didn’t have to work so hard to stay home with my sweet little girl when she’s not feeling well. All she wants is her mama and all my students want is their Mrs. Dennis. 19 more reasons to feel guilt…(19 students in my class)

Thank goodness my sitter is a close family friend and is there to show her extra TLC when we can’t. As of now, I think we have decided to send her tomorrow unless she wakes up very cranky and feverish. She’s all I’ll be thinking about tomorrow and I’ll constantly be checking in with the sitter to see how she’s doing. I’ll be looking forward to the weekend when I can snuggle her all I want.

5 thoughts on “Mom Guilt”

  1. Ugh. I totally can understand this type of duel guilt. As hard as it is for teachers, I still feel like it’s “family first” and self care so that students are better off and get a better version of us when we are there. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Oh, Kelly, I’ve been here so many times. I know exactly how you feel.

    Your peanut knows you love you her so much and I’m sure she’s getting tons of TLC from your sitter.

    This working mom is waaay harder than we thought, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

